Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Our mission is to graduate 100 percent of our students, college and career ready.

Union Bus Driver Flute Ngo Named Support Employee Of The Year

Union Public Schools Hands Art

Congratulations to Union bus driver Flute Ngo, who has been named the 2024 Support Employee of the Year. Ngo was recognized early this afternoon at the Performing Arts Center, following a luncheon today at the High School for all support employees across the Union district. Monthly winners were also recognized during the program; each received a basket of goodies.

Ngo was recognized for his efforts to get sports teams on time to their event, keeping the bus warm or cool, but more importantly, for his attitude, welcoming everyone with a warm smile, greeting each person individually and always asking students how they performed at competition.

“Ngo is truly interested and celebrates our wins with us,” said a coach. “Flute even came to our tournament once with his family just to see what it was like. He is the epitome of what it means to be engaged support personnel.”

Congratulations to all the monthly winners for the past year:

Steven Blades, EDP supervisor, and Kobi Cabral, senior computer tech for Clark and Boevers

Karen Howard, administrative assistant to Assistant Superintendent Sandi Calvin, and Yolanda Castaneda, a custodian at Ellen Ochoa Elementary

Rocio Guerrero, school secretary at Roy Clark Elementary, and Doug Meadows, grounds coordinator for the District

Belinda Wellner, a skill builder at Moore Elementary, and Officer James Wingo of Union High School

Alberto Saldivar, receptionist at Ellen Ochoa Elementary, and Elizabeth Martinez, secretary at Rosa Parks Elementary

Bryce Kost-Day, IT Manager at the Education Service Center, and Mike Hall, lead mechanic in the Transportation Department

De’Vontae Armstead, a behavior tech at Ellen Ochoa Elementary, and Carlos Faz, IT site manager at Jarman

Lisa Way, English Learning secretary at the Education Service Center, and Stacy Haynes, procurement buyer in Purchasing

Doris Pittman, secretary for Union Adult Learning Center, and Mitch Hulse, IT Application Support Associate at Darnaby

Andrea Gattenby, registrar at Freshman Academy, and Mike Fanning, Senior Warehouse Associate.

Michelle Hinkle, executive administrative assistant for Communications and board secretary at the Education Service Center, and Marsha Smith, program secretary for Adult Education and Family Literacy at the Union Adult Learning Center.

James Kirby, custodian for the warehouse, Operations, Alt Ed, and Transportation, and Flute Ngo, bus driver.

Thank you to all of the sponsors and organizations who helped support Union’s recognition of support employees.

2023-2024 Sponsors

  • Union Athletics
  • Union Schools Education Foundation
  • TTCU Federal Credit Union
  • Trafera
  • Nothing Bundt Cakes
  • Rib Crib/Society Burger
  • Mathis Brothers
  • Chimis
  • Andy’s Frozen Custard
  • Texas Roadhouse
  • Arnold’s Old Fashion Hamburgers
  • Tommy’s Express Car Wash
  • Abuelo’s
  • Tulsa Oilers
  • Jiffy Lube
  • BJ’s Restaurant Brewhouse
  • Longhorn Steakhouse
  • McDonald’s
  • Hal Smith Restaurants
  • QuikTrip
  • Berkshire Salon
  • Cracker Barrel
  • Sonic
  • Farmhouse Daylight Donuts
  • Watershed Hospitality
  • Raising Canes
  • IHop