Union Public Schools

Advanced Search

The Union Parent Teacher Association (PTA) is a volunteer child advocacy association, under the umbrella of the National PTA, which provides parents and families with a powerful voice to speak on behalf of every child providing the best tools for parents to help their children become successful students.

2013-2014 PTA Goals

 

The purpose of the Union PTA is the same as that of all PTAs:

  • To support and speak on behalf of children and youth in the schools, in the community, and before governmental bodies and other organizations that make decisions affecting children;

  • To assist parents in developing the skills they need to raise and protect their children;

  • To encourage parent and public involvement in the public schools of this nation.

Union SchoolsIn order to accomplish these goals, it requires the teamwork of parents, teachers and administrators within the school system.
 
The Union PTA comprises a PTA Council and PTA chapters at each school site, including a PTSA (Parent Teacher Student Association) at Union High School at the Union Alternative School.
 
The PTA Council oversees district wide programs that benefit all of the students through several programs including Klothes Kloset, Catch the Dream, Meet the Masters, Reflections and Kids on the Block. The representatives from each site help ensure these programs are a success.

 

At the end of each school year, the PTA presidents write a communique, sharing the achievements each chapter has had.

 

PTA Scholarship

 

The purpose of the Union PTA Scholarship is to encourage students to continue their education, whether at a college or a vocational setting. We strongly encourage all seniors to apply. The application is to be completed by Friday, March 14, 2014. To be eligible the senior must have attended UHS for the last three consecutive semesters and be a member of the Unions High School PTSA by January 31, 2014. Details of completion requirements are on the application. Questions can be addressed to Betsy Francis, Union PTA Council Scholarship Committee, thefrancis5@cox.net.

 

To apply, click on this link and follow the directions.

 

 

Union SchoolsAttention PTA officers please go to the Union Council Facebook page and 'like us' for news on upcoming events and opportunities!
 
Thank you,
Garneita Davis
 
Union PTA Council President 2012-2013
8506 E. 61st
Tulsa, OK 74133
918-663-8105 (home) 1st choice please
918-906-9531 (cell)
 

Featured Programs

Klothes Kloset is a Union PTA program designed to benefit Union students in need of school clothes. Union High School houses the Klothes Kloset, where shopping nights are conducted once every other month. Union provides a school bus so that clothes can be taken to the school sites during the school day to meet the needs of those students who are unable to attend a shopping night. Each of the schools assists in donating clothes and helping to run the shopping nights and the traveling bus.

Union SchoolsCatch the Dream is a PTA Council-sponsored recognition program to honor outstanding staff members. Students at each school nominate staff members who have gone above and beyond their normal duties to be entered into a monthly drawing. The winners at each site are in turn entered into a monthly district drawing to be recognized by the entire district.

Kids on the Block  a program that is coordinated with Union’s drama departments, counselors, and Drug-Free Youth to raise awareness about illegal drugs and alcohol. The program involves D-FY youth visiting schools and performing puppet plays with appropriate messages at different functions and schools.  Students volunteer for the skits.

PTA Council Board 2013-2014

 

President Garneita Davis unionptacouncil@gmail.com
Vice President Leigh Roy leighleighroy@gmail.com
Secretary Liz Martin alanandliz@cox.net
Treasurer Beverly Laubach rblaubach@cs.com
Bus Driver Appreciation

Stephanie Schmidt

JaAnn Beffer

slschmidt63@cox.net

jaann@beffer.com

Catch the Dream Dana Garcia twobusy2001@aol.com
Clothing Closet Darlene Wheeler d-wheeler-biz@cox.net
Directory Julie Knight juliek@kfoc.net
Financial Secretary Pam Riddle pamriddle@cox.net
Hospitality Shannon Davenport Stacey Liedel

sharkygirl@cox.net

liedels@cox.net

Installation Banquet

Jean Jones

Julie Walker

jeanmjones12@yahoo.com

jbwalker98@yahoo.com

Legislation Katie Geier geier.katie@gmail.com
Membership Susan Rogers mccrearysusan@yahoo.com
Parliamentarian Joan Kelley jljckelley@aol.com
Parliamentarian in training Deb Ingram Michelle Jones

debingram@cox.net

cm99jones@cox.net

Reflections Rachel Welch gypsybz@yahoo.com
Scholarships Betsy Francis thefrancis5@cox.net
Social Media Stacey Liedel liedels@cox.net
T-Shirts

Tari Cunningham

Bobbi Lyles

casscori@hotmail.com

bobbi@beadsbybobbi.com

3 Times a Charm Charlotte Cook charlotte.cook@cox.net
 2013-2014 PTA Presidents
 
Union PTA Council Garneita Davis unionptacouncil@gmail.com
Andersen Katie Geier andersenpta@gmail.com
Boevers Jennette Pierce jp@jennettepierce.com
Briarglen Audrey Perry audreylperry@aol.com
Cedar Ridge Jaimie Cotter jcotter413@yahoo.com
Clark Keni Boland kenianneboland@hotmail.com
Darnaby Shea Ludwig sheapta@att.net
Grove Celesta Catcher catcher.celesta@unionps.org
Jarman Joy Carris JMCarris@aol.com
Jefferson Stacey Roemerman stacey_roemerman@hotmail.com
McAuliffe Lisa Shotts shotts.lisa@unionps.org
Moore Desiree Taron tarontrio@cox.net
Peters Jean Jones jeanmjones12@yahoo.com
Rosa Parks Angela Severn flowerfire2002@cox.net
6/7 Grade Center Danielle Stinson dsandsh@icloud.com
8th Grade Center Desiree Taron Darlene Wheeler

tarontrio@cox.net

d-wheeler-biz@cox.net

9th Grade Center Stacey Liedel Melanie Coday liedels@cox.net mcoday2000@yahoo.com
High School Sheffra Stauder rstauder@cox.net
Alternative Rosanne Capolongo rocap52.rc@gmail.com or rosanne.capolongo@specificsystems.com
 
 
-

Congratulations to the following students for being the 2013-14 recipients of the Union PTA Council Scholarships.
• Cooper Anderson
• Rachel Brill
• Alexander Brown
• Bradyn Fair
• Kristen Grounds
• Jada Hall
• Nicole Jellison
• Chandler McDaniel
• Samuel McNulty
• Rosa Nowlin
• William Nowlin
• Lauren Pixley
• Allison Tallman
• Courtney Torres