Show Menu Union Public Schools Logo
  • Home /
  • News /
  • District News

District News

Share this story

Juan Pablo Cardenas & Haley Riggins named Mr. and Miss Union

Originally posted March 8, 2019

Congratulations to Juan Pablo Cardenas & Haley Riggins, who were named Mr. and Miss Union at the High School today. Being named Mr. and Miss Union is considered the highest honor a student may receive at Union High School.

He is the son of Pablo and Cielo Cardenas of Tulsa. Riggins is the daughter of Jayson and Karey Riggins of Broken Arrow. They and the members of the Royal Court were recognized during a formal ceremony at the Union Performing Arts Center. Members of the court were introduced by their friends as classmates and family watched from the audience.

Cardenas is active in the Renegade Regiment Marching Band, Tulsa Global Alliance, and he is president of the Interact Club. He has been named a National Hispanic Scholar and an Advanced Placement Scholar of Distinction. He has not decided on a college yet but he hopes to major in finance and international business with hopes of becoming a management consultant.

Riggins is active in Renegade Regiment, Leadership and National Honor Society. She has been honored as an Outstanding Student Leader in the Renegade Regiment, Leadership Student of the Year as a Freshman, Freshman Attendant for Royalty Court for Renegade Regiment and was a Miss Union Royalty member her junior year. She is also the head drum major for the band. She plans to attend the University of Oklahoma and major in social sciences.

Mr. Senior Royalty includes JT McCloud, Juan Pablo Cardenas, and Ty Rossow. Miss Union Senior Royalty includes Haley Riggins, Kylie Crowe, and Nadia Mustafa. Junior Royalty includes Mason Mecke, Nathan Bremer, Courtney Moyer, and Madeline Addis.

The top senior boys are Alec Gonzalez, Charlie Hatfield, Elijah Tomlin, Jacob Eglinton, JT McCloud, Juan Pablo Cardenas, Peyton Thompson, Ryan Hofmann, Sam Perez, and Ty Rossow.

 The top senior girls are Haley Riggins, Ingrid Gutierrez Calderon, Kylie Crowe, Logan Vowels, Maria Olmos, Nadia Mustafa, Riyanna Williams, Savannah Quant, Taran Stauder and Valeria Rodriguez-Lopez.

The top junior girls are Adrianna Young, Anna McMullen, Courtney Moyer, Jayla Burgess, Lyly Nguyen, Madeline Addis, Odalys Castillo, Peyton Newman, Saylor Hampton, and Tiffany Guo.

 The top junior boys are Blake Brown, Desmin McDaniels, Eduardo Flores, Joel Wilkinson, Joshua Fridrich, Keegan Knouse, Kyler Pearson, Mason Mecke, and Micah Walker, Nathan Bremer.

Mr. and Miss Union was selected from these 1top 10 students selected in January.  The final selection was determined by 20 percent grade point average, 30 percent teacher recommendation score, and 50 percent student vote.