Show Menu Union Public Schools Logo
  • Home /
  • News /
  • District News

District News

Share this story

District Site Teachers of the Year for Union Public Schools announced

The 2018-2019 Site Teachers of the Year are: (pictured left to right) first row, Hillary Taylor, Catherine Zelenski, Raven Gibson, Brandy McCombs, Cassie Lisicki, Megan Sparks, Christa Kempenich; second row, Steve Martin, Natalie Macrae, Libby Sparkman, Annabelle Henry; third row, Stephanie Solnok, Kaitlyn Bueno, Lisa Shotts, Rose Lambert, Jenny Ochwo, Melissa Paschall, Shirley Davis, and Lauren Watts. Not pictured is Jeff Kennedy.

Originally posted November 1, 2018

Union Public Schools has announced its 2018-2019 School Site Teachers of the Year. The District Teacher of the Year will be announced during a formal reception in February at the Union Performing Arts Center at Union High School, 6636 S. Mingo Road. 

Being named Teacher of the Year is one of the highest honors a teacher can receive at Union. All of the school site Teachers of the Year will be honored during the winter reception.

The Site Teachers of the Year are:

  1. Andersen Elementary – Megan Sparks, prekindergarten
  2. Boevers Elementary – Shirley Davis, music
  3. Cedar Ridge Elementary -  Libby Sparkman, fourth grade
  4. Clark Elementary -  Raven Gibson, kindergarten
  5. Darnaby Elementary -  Lauren Watts, second grade
  6. Grove Elementary -  Brandy McCombs, first grade
  7. Jarman Elementary -  Hillary Taylor, art
  8. Jefferson Elementary – Annabelle Henry, first grade
  9. McAuliffe Elementary - Steve Martin, fifth grade
  10. Moore Elementary – Christa Kempenich, special education
  11. Ellen Ochoa Elementary – Lisa Shotts, fourth grade
  12. Peters Elementary – Melissa Paschall, mult-age first/second grade
  13. Rosa Parks Elementary – Stephanie Solnok, third grade
  14. Rosa Parks Early Childhood Education Center - Natalie Macrae
  15. 6th Grade Center – Kaitlyn Bueno, language arts
  16. 7th Grade Center – Cassie Lisicki, English        
  17. 8th Grade Center – Catherine Zelenski, language arts
  18. 9th Grade Center – Rose Lambert, media specialist
  19. High School – Jenny Ochwo, English Learner
  20. Alternative School – Jeff Kennedy, math