Show Menu Union Public Schools Logo
  • Home /
  • News /
  • District News

District News

Share this story

District Site Teachers of the Year for Union Public Schools announced

The 2017-2018 Site Teachers of the Year are: (pictured left to right) sitting in front, Paola Puleo, Kassie Alexander, Philippa Kelly, Lisa Harper, Paula Ontko, Melodie Cole; and Justin Vannest, Katie Cealka,  Andree Lira, Becca Bearden, Cindy Forbis, Beth Grounds,  Kelly Buck, Kara Minton, Teresa Besses, Lydia Leslie,  Taya Oelze, Travis Webb, Zondra Clunn, and Jillian King.

Originally posted October 24, 2017

Union Public Schools has announced its 2017-2018 School Site Teachers of the Year. The District Teacher of the Year will be announced during a formal reception in February at the Union Performing Arts Center at Union High School, 6636 S. Mingo Road. The teachers were recognized at half time during the High School Homecoming football game as well.

Being named Teacher of the Year is one of the highest honors a teacher can receive at Union. All of the school site Teachers of the Year will be honored during the winter reception; teachers were selected by their peers earlier this year so they could be recognized during the football game.

The Site Teachers of the Year are:

  • Andersen Elementary - Kara Minton, art
  • Boevers Elementary - Lydia Leslie, fifth grade
  • Cedar Ridge Elementary - Cindy Forbis, second grade
  • Clark Elementary - Teresa Besses, counselor
  • Darnaby Elementary - Kelly Buck, counselor
  • Grove Elementary - Paola Puleo, third grade
  • Jarman Elementary - Becca Bearden, third grade
  • Jefferson Elementary - Lisa Harper, reading specialist
  • McAuliffe Elementary - Kassie Alexander, physical education   
  • Moore Elementary - Beth Grounds, multi-age first/second grade
  • Ellen Ochoa Elementary - Taya Oelze, kindergarten
  • Peters Elementary - Andree Lira, fifth grade
  • Rosa Parks Elementary - Katie Cealka, art
  • Rosa Parks Early Childhood Education Center - Jillian King      
  • 6th Grade Center - Melodie Cole, language arts 
  • 7th Grade Center - Justin Vannest, math
  • 8th Grade Center - Paula Ontko, special education
  • 9th Grade Center - Travis Webb, business
  • High School - Philippa Kelly, social studies
  • Alternative School - Zondra Clunn, English