Show Menu Union Public Schools Logo
  • Home /
  • News /
  • District News

District News

Share this story

7 seniors named National Merit Finalists

Seven seniors have been named 2016-2017 National Merit Finalists at Union High School, 6636 S. Mingo Road. They are pictured here: Wade G. Witcher, Bella Zhan, Timothy D. McMullen, Abigail B. Cornett, Colton J. Benningfield, Stephanie K Royer, and Daniel C. Royer.

Originally posted February 14, 2017

Seven seniors from Union High School have been named 2016-2017 National Merit Finalists. Principal John Chargois made the announcement today as he and other administrators congratulated the students.

Following are the names of Union’s National Merit Finalists:

  • Colton J. Benningfield, son of Gregg and Susan Benningfield of Tulsa
  • Abigail B. Cornett, daughter of Nancy Cornett of Broken Arrow
  • Timothy D. McMullen, son of John and Kay McMullen of Tulsa
  • Daniel C. Royer, son of Michael and Marla Royer of Tulsa
  • Stephanie K Royer, daughter of Christopher and Grace Royer of Tulsa
  • Wade G. Witcher,  son of Joey and Lisa Witcher of Broken Arrow
  • Bella Zhan, daughter of Xiaodong and Jinyi Wang Zhan of Broken Arrow

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million that will be offered this spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, the students, as semifinalists, had to fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. Officials with the National Merit Scholarship Corporation said the Union students were among approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program announced last September.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 440 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

To participate in the National Merit Scholarship Program, a student must:

  • be enrolled full time as a high school student, progressing normally toward graduation or completion of high school, and planning to enter college no later than the fall following completion of high school;
  • be a citizen of the United States or, if not now a citizen, a permanent U.S. resident (or an applicant for permanent residency) in the process of becoming a U.S. citizen; and
  • take the PSAT/NMSQT ® in the specified year of the high school program and no later than the third year in grades 9 through 12, regardless of grade classification or educational pattern.